The Croatian Soccer Tournament of Australia & New Zealand (aka Tourni) is the largest and oldest football tournament in Australia, with every state and territory (except for NT) hosting the event.


The Tourni kicked off in 1974 hosted by Melbourne Croatia at Montgomery Park, Essendon with only 6 clubs participating.


In 2014, in it's 40th year, the Tourni was hosted by South Coast United (nee Wollongong Croatia) in Wollongong, our southern neighbours down the F6. It has grown to feature now over 50 teams split into 4 divisions - Division 1, Division 2, Masters and Womens. HZFC had 4 teams in the tournament in which our Open's squad made the semi finals, only to lose to eventual winners Adelaide Raiders.


HZFC have had a proud history in participating in the Tourni over the past 35 years.


HZFC have finished Runners-up in Division 1 in 1979 (in Perth, we lost our Big Brother, Sydney Croatia, 2-0) and a notable third a few times in Division 1, most recently in the 36th edition (held in Perth again by the Western Knights) and beating their most fancied opponents St. Albans Dinamo and Canberra Deakin.

However, our Masters, coached by Richard Plesa and captained by Tommy Prusac, won the tournament in Canberra 2017 against Strathmore Split. 


HZFC also hosted the 1999 edition of the Tourni at the King Tomislav Soccer Fields in Edensor Park.

HZFC is also represented in the Australian Croatian Soccer Hall of Fame, with John Gagro, Ivan Pavelic and Gordana Gagro each being nominated and accepted in the Hall of Fame

We look forward to see everyone again in Dandedong in Melbourne in 2019.